Notice of Race

Notice of Race

Oceanbridge Auckland Anniversary Day Regatta

Monday 29 January 2024

The Organising Authority is the Auckland Anniversary Regatta Inc
c/- 181 Westhaven Drive, Westhaven Marina, Auckland 1011
P: 0800-REGATTA ​

In conjunction with Bucklands Beach Yacht Club, Classic Yacht Association, Devonport Yacht Club, Dragon Boat Association, Manly Sailing Club, Murrays Bay Sailing Club, Northcote/Birkenhead YC, Royal Akarana Yacht Club, Royal NZ Yacht Squadron, Sea Scouts NZ, Tamaki Yacht Club, Takapuna Boating Club


1.0. RULES
1.1 Keelboat, Dinghy and Foiling Classes, Radio-Controlled yachts will be governed by the rules as defined in The Racing Rules of Sailing.

1.2. Tugboat and Classic Launch events will be governed by the New Zealand Maritime Transport Act, Maritime Rules Part 22, Collision Prevention.

1.3 Attention is drawn to Regulation No.2 and clause 2.2 Yachting New Zealand (YNZ) Safety Regulations: The Maritime Transport Act 1994 states that the master of the vessel is at all times responsible for the safety of the vessel, the safety of those on board, discipline on board and for complying with all maritime rules, regulations, and bylaws.

1.4 The YNZ Safety Regulations Part I shall apply to un-ballasted centerboard boats, open boats, and sailboards.

1.5 The YNZ Safety Regulations Part II Category 5 shall apply to keelboats and multihull boats except for the Passage Races where Category 4 shall apply to keelboats & multihull boats. It is recommended that all boats shall carry an inflated dinghy, a life-raft or tow a rigid dinghy capable of carrying the entire crew as per YNZ Safety Regulations.

1.6 The YNZ Safety Regulations Part V Category C shall apply to trailer yachts.

1.7 The YNZ Sports Boat Regulations shall apply to sports boats.

1.8 Racing Rules of Auckland Dragon Boating shall apply to Dragon Boats

2.1   Boats may be required to display advertising chosen and supplied by the organising authority

3.1 The regatta is open to boats that comply with Clause 1.0 of the NOR

3.2 The entry fees are as follows:

3.2.1 Keelboats, Trailer Yachts, Tugboats & Classic Launches $40.00 incl GST
3.2.2 Dragon Boats, Waka Ama canoes $20.00 incl GST
3.2.3 Dinghy and Foiling Classes $20.00 incl GST
3.2.4 Radio Controlled Yachts $20.00 incl GST


3.3 Entries under 3.2.1 will close at 1700 hours on Friday 26 January 2024. Late Entries: will close at 1700hrs on Saturday 27January 2024.  Late Entries: $50.00
. Entries can be completed online at

3.4 Entries under 3.2.2, 3.2.3 and 3.2.4 can be completed online at host clubs or completed at the applicable venue on the day of the Regatta. 
Entries will close 60 minutes prior to the warning signal for the first race.

3.5 Measurement certificates should be available if requested.

3.6 Keelboats may use extras except for those competing in Passage Races M1 (ref Cl 4.5) and R1 ref Cl 4.6).

4.1 Dragon Boat Racing – Viaduct Harbour
Briefing:  0900hrs              Race Start:  0930hrs

4.2 Waitemata Harbour – Tugboat Race
Briefing:  0900hrs    Warning Signal: 0955hrs        Race Start: 1000hrs

4.3 Waitemata Harbour – Classic Launch Race
Warning Signal: 1055hrs       Race Start 1100hrs

4.4 Waitemata Harbour Races – Keelboats and Waka

Division Warning Signal
A Classic 1155hrs
Modern Classic 1200hrs
Division 1 (Over 12.19m) 1205hrs
Division 2 (9.5m to 12.19m) 1210hrs
Division 3 (Up to 9.5m) 1215hrs
B Classic 1220hrs
Waka Ama 1225hrs

Tall Ships and Waka Hourua 1230hrs


4.5 Mahurangi to Resolution Passage Race
Division M1 – Keelboats no extras
 Warning Signal 0855hrs
Division M2 – Keelboats Open Warning Signal 0900hrs

4.6  Rakino to Resolution Passage Race
Division R1 – Keelboats no extras   Warning Signal 0955hrs
Division R2 – Reactor 25           Warning Signal 1000hrs

4.7 Centreboard Races: Waitemata Harbour

Royal Akarana Yacht Club
Optimist, Optimist Green, and Starling Classes Auckland Championships will be held over Anniversary Weekend 27-29 January 2024, incorporating Auckland Anniversary Regatta on the Monday.
Registration and Briefing details as per Royal Akarana Yacht Club:

Manly Sailing Club
O’pen Skiff; RS Feva; Zephyrs; Cherubs; Wingfoil
Registration: 0930-1030hrs Briefing: 1100hrs      Warning signal Race 1: 1155hrs

Narrow Neck Beach
Sea Scout Cutters; Navy Crown; Sunbursts
Registration: 0930hrs         Briefing: 1000hrs      Warning signal Race 1: 1025hrs

Northcote Birkenhead Yacht Club
RS Quest; RS Aero
Registration and Briefing as per Northcote/Birkenhead Yacht Club:
Warning signal Race 1: 1055hrs

Murrays Bay Sailing Club
420; 29er: 49er; 49erFX
Registration and Briefing details as per Murrays Bay Sailing Club:

Tamaki Yacht Club
Laser; Laser Radial; Laser 4.7
Briefing: 1130hr         Warning signal Race 1: 1230hrs

Takapuna Boating Club
27-29 January 2024 Two Day Event and One Day Event
FOILING Classes: Windfoil; Kite foil; Nacra 15/17; Waszp; Moths; A Class
No briefing               Warning Signal Race 1 - 1200hrs

DINGHY Classes: Farr 3.7
Registration: 0900hrs                Briefing: 1045hrs Warning Signal Race 1: 1200hrs

Please note:  Notices and Sailing Instructions will be displayed on the official notice board on the main deck of the Takapuna Boating Club

4.8    Radio Controlled Yachts
Electron Class: Westhaven Marina (Marine Industries Association Pontoon)
Briefing:  0930hrs         Warning signal Race 1: 0958hrs
International One Metre: St Mary’s Bay
Briefing:  0930hrs          Warning signal Race 1: 0958hrs

Sailing Instructions for Events 4.2, 4.3, 4.4, 4.5, 4.6, 4.8 will be available on prior to 1 December 2023
Sailing Instructions for Events 4.1, 4.7, 4.8 will be available at the host venues on the day of the Regatta.

The race areas will be the Hauraki Gulf, Waitemata and Viaduct Harbours and Westhaven Marina.

The courses will be described in the Sailing Instructions applicable to the respective venues

8.1 Handicaps will be set by the AAR with assistance from Clubs, Class Associations and YNZ.
8.2 No score will be excluded.

RRS Rule 44.1 shall apply for all boats.   Appendix P may also apply.


Prizes and trophies will be presented at the Official Prizegiving, Tuesday 20 February 2024
 Venue:  Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron


All those taking part in Auckland Anniversary Regatta (AAR) races or any other sailing events controlled by the AAR, do so at their own risk and responsibility. The AAR and any sponsor associated with this event has no liability for any damage, loss or penalty suffered by any boat, crew or other person taking part in such events. The AAR and any sponsor associated with this event shall not be responsible for the sea-worthiness of a boat whose entry is accepted and/or the sufficiency and/or adequacy of its equipment or the competence of its skipper and crew. The AAR reserves the right in its sole and uncontrolled discretion to refuse any entry.

Dated: 16 October 2023

Get updates

Stay in the loop by joining our mailing list.